SF Inspiration (Crissy Field)

“San Francisco itself is art, above all literary art.  Every block is a short story, every hill a novel.  Every home a poem, every dweller within immortal.  That is the whole truth.” – William Saroyan 

Mark di Suvero Inspiration

Upon going to the gym about a month ago I was amazed to see new sculptures popping up all over the Crissy Field.  This once grass field with iconic views was now transformed into an almost burning man like spectacle. I noticed immediately it was made of the old golden gate bridge extension that was being torn down over the pet cemetery.  I thought to myself what a clever way to display golden gate bridge in a new way from the amazing viewing spot of this epic landmark.

For the months prior I have watched them tear down this old extension of the orange steel bridge and wondered what they would do with the remaining material.  I thought only in SF would they hire a famous artist (Mark di Suvero) to pepper this park with sculptures of recycled orange steel.  These sorts of inspirations are why I love SF and where I live so much.  It never ceases to amaze me with the creativity this city exemplifies.  It is one of the most inspirational and main reasons why I was drawn to San Francisco in the first place.

Related Links

One response to “SF Inspiration (Crissy Field)

  1. Pingback: Art vs. Clutter | THINK·

Leave a Reply

